Actually, for me, it was a Suzy Q.  You see, I had a “friend” that I frequently shared lunch with in elementary school.  She bought the school lunch and I packed my lunch (except Thursdays–pizza day!).  My parents filled our lunches with healthy, nutritious foods.  But, occasionally, we received a treat in our lunches as well.  When my mom brought home that Suzy Q, I lost it.  Oh, the decadence.

Well, by “lost it,” I don’t mean that I jumped for joy, or sang my mom’s praises.  I sat down on the steps leading from our kitchen to our family room and burst into tears.  I just couldn’t bare to share my delectable treat.  So, I spilled all the beans.  Finally, my mom understood why I was so hungry after school.  Half of my lunch had been someone else’s midday nourishment.  That stopped the very next day.  MY Suzy Q gave me the power to take back all of my lunch!

Similar to my tale, the current news on the Hostess Brands, Inc. financial demise, mediation and imminent liquidation has sparked up nostalgia.  Across the country (and likely the world), people are remembering their favorite Hostess treats, with several reclaiming them in hoards at local stores last week.  Suzy Qs are even being sold on eBay!  I haven’t had a Hostess treat in years, but I remember the taste well.

It’s been said that Twinkies have a shelf life of 20 years or more–a common urban legend, I suppose.  Our Twinkies survived the days of being tossed in paper sacks or metal lunch boxes with the likes of ET, Care Bears, GI Joe or Barbie gracing the outside.  They were kept in our paper lunch sacks or boxes, with a collection of other lunches, in our classrooms or classroom coat rooms.  There was no refrigeration for our lunches or cold packs to keep them at the right temperature until the school bells signaled the start of the lunch hour.  Indeed, the closest thing we had to a cold pack was a thermos that frequently allowed us to carry warm soup to school for lunch, or better yet, “lukecold” milk.

So, if our Twinkies could survive all of that, I am certain they will survive this.

What was your favorite Hostess treat?

A) Twinkies

B) Ding Dongs

C) Crumb Cakes

D) Ho-Hos

E) Other

Be sure to follow current events on the Hostess Brands, Inc. bankruptcy under the Roll Call tab.

